Jerusalem                            Christian Channel                    Home

Brief History of Jerusalem Part  2
Brief History of Jerusalem Part 1 and Part  2
Jesus Christ, the Coming king and His Kingdom (I)
On same page (II)  (III)
*The Second Coming of Jesus Christ.....The premillennial view  (II)
*The Second Coming of Jesus Christ and the nations of the world (III)
The Second Coming of Jesus Christ.....His Revelation to the Jews (IV)

Brief History of Jerusalem Part  2                     
Period of the Procurators
Pontius Pilate was the 5th procurator in Palestine.A.D 26 - A.D 36.
Period of the Destruction of Jerusalem
A.D 70.Roman soldiers under Titus destroy Jerusalem and the temple.
A.D 132 - A.D 135.The Bar - Kokhba Jewish revolt.The revolt is crushed by
Hadrian.A.D 125.
Jerusalem is rebuilt and renamed Aelia Capitolina, a name retained from
A.D 135 until A.D 330.
A temple for Jupiter is erected on the site once occupied by the temple.
Judea is renamed Syria Palaestina.
The Byzantine Period
The holy city's name "Jerusalem" reinstituted by Constantine in A.D 330.
He abolished heathenism.
Church of the Holy Sepulcher is dedicated in A.D 335.
The Persian Period
A.D 614.King Chosroes II of Persia captures the city.
The Moslem Period
A.D 633.Persia attacked and defeated by the Arabs.The victorious Omar,
the Caliph, captures Jerusalem in A.D 637.
A.D 691.The Dome of the Rock erected
The Wailing Wall
A.D 705.The Al Aqsa Mosque erected.
A.D 1077.Jerusalem captured by the Seljuk Turks.
The Crusader Period
These so called christians capture the holy city in A.D
The Kingdom of Jerusalem established.Godfrey
de Bouillon is elected king.
Mohammedans recapture Jerusalem
In A.D 1187, after his victory at the Horns of Hattin, the
Sultan captures Jerusalem from the Crusaders.
The Mameluke Period. A.D 1254 - A.D 1517
The Ottoman Period
The Holy city captured and ruled by the Ottoman Turks
Dome of the Rock
A.D 1517 - A.D 1917.
The British Period.A.D 1917 - A.D 1948
The British forces led by General Allenby take control of Jerusalem in A.D 1917.They leave the country in 1948.
The Israeli Period.A.D 1948-
May 15, 1948.The state of Israel is declared.
Jerusalem divided 1948 - 1967.
1949.Israel declares Jerusalem as the capital.
1967, 7 June.Israel captures East ( Arab) Jerusalem
and raise the Israeli flag on Temple Mount.
1967.Reunification of Israel.
The YMCA building

Church of the Holy Sepulcher
The territories occupied by Israel since the 1967 war are not included in the Israel country profile, unless otherwise noted.
On 25 April 1982, Israel withdrew from the Sinai pursuant to the 1979 Israel-Egypt Peace Treaty. Israel and Palestinian
officials signed on 13 September 1993 a Declaration of Principles (also known as the "Oslo accords") guiding an interim
period of Palestinian self-rule. Outstanding territorial and other disputes with Jordan were resolved in the 26 October 1994 Israel-Jordan Treaty of Peace. In addition, on 25 May 2000, Israel withdrew unilaterally from southern Lebanon, which it had
occupied since 1982. In keeping with the framework established at the Madrid Conference in October 1991, bilateral
negotiations were conducted between Israel and Palestinian representatives and Syria to achieve a permanent settlement.
On 24 June 2002, US President BUSH laid out a "road map" for resolving the Israeli-Palestinian conflict, which envisions a two-state solution. However, progress toward a permanent status agreement has been undermined by Palestinian-Israeli violence ongoing since September 2000. The conflict may have reached a turning point with the election in January 2005 of
Mahmud ABBAS as the new Palestinian leader following the November 2004 death of Yasir ARAFAT.
Source:The world fact book